Lanka Premier League 2022 Schedule to start from 31 July

The Lanka Premier League (LPL) is all set to return for its third edition in July 2022, Sri Lanka Cricket is confirmed on Friday (June 10). The five-team tournament, scheduled to be held in Colombo and Hambantota, will conclude on August 21, 2022.

This year’s tournament will feature 24 matches in total, with each team playing every other team twice in a round-robin format. The top four teams will then progress to the semi-finals, with the 1st and 2nd placed teams playing each other, and the 3rd and 4th placed teams playing each other. The winners of those two matches will then face off in the final.

Sri Lanka Cricket also confirmed that the tournament will once again feature a player draft, which is set to take place on June 28. A total of 96 players will be up for grabs in the draft, with each team allowed to pick a maximum of 18 players.

Read More: Australia Test Squad for Sri Lanka 2022

The Lanka Premier League was first held in 2020 and was won by the Jaffna Kings. The 2021 edition of the tournament was canceled due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Are you excited for the return of the Lanka Premier League? Who do you think will be crowned champions in the 2022 Lanka Premier League? Let us know in the comments below.

Leave a Comment