Why Pakistan were penalised five runs against West Indies

penalised five runs: In the second ODI between Pakistan and West Indies, Babar Azam was penalised for illegal fielding.

The incident occurred in the 29th over of the West Indies innings, when Azam picked up one of the wicket-keeping gloves from Mohammad Rizwan and used it to collect a throw behind the stumps.

This was deemed as illegal fielding by the on-field umpires and as a result, added five extra runs to the West Indies total.

This is not the first time that Azam has been penalised for illegal fielding. In the past, he has also been reprimanded for running on the pitch and damaging the pitch during a match.

Read More: IPL Media-rights auction: No global players but expects the big show

Azam will need to be more careful in the future to avoid such penalties. Otherwise, it could cost Pakistan dearly in a close match.

Laws of Cricket: 28.1 Protective equipment:

No fielder other than the wicket-keeper shall be permitted to wear gloves or external leg guards. In addition, protection for the hand or fingers may be worn only with the consent of the umpires.

Penalty for deliberate breach of this law: The offending player shall be warned by the umpire. If the player persists with the offence, the umpire shall call and signal No ball. The next delivery by the bowler during that innings shall be a No ball. For any further breach of this law by that player in that innings, the umpire shall award five penalty runs to the opposing team. The umpires may also take action against the captain for repeated breaches of this law by the same player.

Leave a Comment